Tag Archives: Michael Dante DiMartino

The Legend of Korra to Officially Continue In A Graphic Novel Series!

4 Oct

By Ed Sum (The Vintage Tempest)d4c

The Legend of Korra: Turf Wars is an official continuation of the adventure, and Dark Horse Comics is delivering it come next year — June 2017 to be specific. As most viewers know, Korra and Asami entered the spirit world in the finale to start a new part of their journey. Their experiences may well get recounted through flashbacks. Much of the story will take place upon their return to Republic City.

This three-part graphic novel series is written by Nickelodeon TV series co-creator and executive producer Michael Dante DiMartino, drawn by Irene Koh (Batgirl, 1602, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), with covers by Heather Campbell (Free Comic Book Day 2016: The Legend of Korra), colored by Jane Bak and executive produced by series co-creator and executive producer Bryan Konietzko. He functions as creative consultant.

Turf Wars begins with Korra and Asami leaving the spirit world and coming home only to find political hijinks and human vs. spirit conflict, as a pompous developer plans to turn the new spirit portal into an amusement park, potentially severing an already tumultuous connection with the spirits. In addition, the triads have realigned and are in a brutal brawl at the city’s borders where hundreds of evacuees have relocated. In order to get through it all, Korra and Asami vow to look out for each other—but first, they’ve got to get better at being a team.

Dark Horse’s award-winning Avatar: The Last Airbender program has seen multiple number-one New York Times bestsellers and continues to grow with the current North and South series written by Gene Luen Yang, an Eisner Award winner and the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. Turf Wars is the latest release in an ongoing partnership between Nickelodeon and Dark Horse to bring fans the very best in graphic novels.

Colouring Books for All Ages Are Coming this October from Dark Horse Comics!

15 Jun

By Ed Sum (The Vintage Tempest)

Dark Horse Comics says colouring books are no longer for kids and this will become a fact come October 2016. In addition to the first release by best-selling author Chuck Palahniuk (Fight Club) and featuring art from Lee Bermejo, Kirbi Fagan, Duncan Fegredo, Alise Gluškova, Joëlle Jones, Steve Morris, Tony Puryear and Marc Scheff, Bait: Off-Color Stories For You To Colour a collection of eight short stories with nearly 50 pieces of black and white illustrations for readers to put their mark in, two more books are being offered! For fans of Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko‘s Avatar: The Last Airbender and Joss Whedon‘s Serenity, perhaps this company is saying to those big boys and girls that it’s okay to “borrow” those crayons, watercolour sets and coloured chalk from their little brothers or sisters (conversely, the adults to play with their kids) to paint onto heavyweight paper their own interpretations of the costumes worn by Aang, Katara, Toph or Azula — to name a few — or Malcolm Reynolds,  Zoe Washburne or Hoban.

Continue reading