Tag Archives: Colouring Books

Dark Horse Comics, Ed’s Picks of Oct and Nov 2016

15 Nov

Dark Horse Logo

By Ed Sum (The Vintage Tempest)

Autumn is here, and Winter is near. Just what can a kid like me do? Read comics of course! When my interest with Pokémon GO has waned, and I have thoughts about what can be played, well here’s my list of Dark Horse picks for the cold nights ahead. I say it is time to pull out my colouring pencils!

Adult colouring books is a phenomenon, and when Dark Horse is one of the leaders of the pack, I can also try out the water-soluble leads I have on trying to mimic the style found in some Asian prints. On top of my list is the Avatar: The Last Airbender trade paperback. There are 45 pages to paint up, and the art is done by Jed Henry. This book is out now.

Either now available or soon will be are my bi-monthly picks:

27860

Chimichanga:
Sorrow of the
World’s Worse Face #1 

October 12

Wrinkle’s Traveling Circus’ most adorable bearded girl and her savory-named beast are back, and there is a new act in store! Come one, come all to the Sorrow of the World’s Worst Face! But beware: those who look behind the curtain are in for an awful treat, and it’s not just his face we’re talkin’ about!

  • Featuring art by Stephanie Buscema!

“Chimichanga is full of that youthful vigor that makes The Goon such a delight.” —Broken Frontier

Continue reading

Advertisements

Colouring Books for All Ages Are Coming this October from Dark Horse Comics!

15 Jun

By Ed Sum (The Vintage Tempest)

Dark Horse Comics says colouring books are no longer for kids and this will become a fact come October 2016. In addition to the first release by best-selling author Chuck Palahniuk (Fight Club) and featuring art from Lee Bermejo, Kirbi Fagan, Duncan Fegredo, Alise Gluškova, Joëlle Jones, Steve Morris, Tony Puryear and Marc Scheff, Bait: Off-Color Stories For You To Colour a collection of eight short stories with nearly 50 pieces of black and white illustrations for readers to put their mark in, two more books are being offered! For fans of Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko‘s Avatar: The Last Airbender and Joss Whedon‘s Serenity, perhaps this company is saying to those big boys and girls that it’s okay to “borrow” those crayons, watercolour sets and coloured chalk from their little brothers or sisters (conversely, the adults to play with their kids) to paint onto heavyweight paper their own interpretations of the costumes worn by Aang, Katara, Toph or Azula — to name a few — or Malcolm Reynolds,  Zoe Washburne or Hoban.

Continue reading